Okavango Delta – Botswana

The Okavango Delta (or Okavango Grassland) (formerly spelled Okovango or Okovanggo) in Botswana is a very large, swampy inland delta formed where the Okavango River reaches a tectonic trough in the central part of the endorheic basin of the Kalahari.


The Okavango Delta peoples consist of five ethnic groups, each with its own ethnic identity and language.


The Okavango delta is both a permanent and seasonal home to a wide variety of wildlife which is now a popular tourist attraction.[7]

Species include African bush elephantAfrican buffalohippopotamuslechwetsessebesitatungablue wildebeestAngolan giraffeNile crocodileSouthwest African lionSouth African cheetahAfrican leopardbrown hyenaspotted hyenaspringbokgreater kudusable antelopesouth-central black rhinocerossouthern white rhinocerosBurchell’s zebracommon warthog and chacma baboon.

Via Wikiwand


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s